The Senior School Certificate Examination

About SSC

The Indian Army is the land-based branch and the largest component of the Indian Armed Forces. The President of India is the Supreme Commander of the Indian Army, and it is commanded by the Chief of Army Staff (COAS), who is a four-star general. Two officers have been conferred with the rank of field marshal, a five-star rank, which is a ceremonial position of great honour. The Indian Army originated from the armies of the East India Company, which eventually became the British Indian Army, and the armies of the princely states, which finally became the national army after independence. The units and regiments of the Indian Army have diverse histories and have participated in a number of battles and campaigns across the world, earning a large number of battle and theatre honours before and after Independence.

The primary mission of the Indian Army is to ensure national security and national unity, defending the nation from external aggression and internal threats, and maintaining peace and security within its borders. It conducts humanitarian rescue operations during natural calamities and other disturbances, like Operation Surya Hope, and can also be requisitioned by the government to cope with internal threats. It is a major component of national power alongside the Indian Navy and the Indian Air Force. The army has been involved in four wars with neighbouring Pakistan and one with China. Other major operations undertaken by the army include: Operation Vijay, Operation Meghdoot and Operation Cactus. Apart from conflicts, the army has conducted large peace time exercises like Operation Brasstacks and Exercise Shoorveer, and it has also been an active participant in numerous United Nations peacekeeping missions including those in: Cyprus, Lebanon, Congo, Angola, Cambodia, Vietnam, Namibia, El Salvador, Liberia, Mozambique and Somalia.


Educational Qualification: (AS ON 01.07.2017)

  • Graduate Level Examination- The eligibility for this examination is graduation or equivalent in any other discipline.
  • Combined Matric Level Examination- The eligibility for this examination is matriculation.
  • Combined Higher Secondary Level Examination- The eligibility for this examination is 12th class or equivalent in any other discipline.
  • The age limit depends on different posts for appearing in SSC examination. Candidates can get complete information about it from the employment new/Rozgar samachar. However, the general age limit for appearing SSC examination is 18 to 27 years (relaxation in age is available for reserved candidates).
  • The educational qualification depends on different posts that generally vary from 10th class to graduation level.
  • Selection Process

    SSC CGL 2017 exam will be conducted in four tiers. Candidates will have to qualify Tier I, II, III & IV with high score to secure rank in merit list. The recruitment of candidates to Group B staffs in Central Vigilance Commission, Intelligence Bureau, Ministry of Railway, Ministry of External Affairs, CAG, AFHQ, Central Bureau of Investigation, Department of Post, Controller General of Account, Central Bureau of Narcotics, Central Excise, Central Bureau of Investigation, Central Police Organisations, etc will be done on the basis of candidates rank and posts selected. The stages of SSC CGL Selection Procedure 2017 has been explained below.

  • Stage 1: Tier I Online Test
  • Stage 2: Tier II Online Test
  • Stage 3: Tier III Descriptive Test
  • Stage 4: Tier IV Data Entry Skill Test (DEST) /Computer Proficiency Test (CPT)
  • Stage 1: Tier I Online Test

  • This is the first stage of SSC CGL Selection Procedure 2017 . The stage will test the basic understanding of the candidates.
  • Tier-I exam will be conducted in Computer Based Mode comprising of 200 marks Objective Multiple Choice Type questions.
  • Marks of scored by the candidates in Tier I will be taken into account for ranking
  • The Tier-I marks will be taken into consideration for selecting candidates for Descriptive Test and Computer Proficiency Tests (CPT)/Data Entry Skill Test (DEST).
  • The candidates who are declared qualified in Tier-I as per the cutoff score of SSC CGL will be eligible for appearing in Tier-II.
  • Stage 2: Tier II Online Test

  • Only those candidates who qualify the Tier-I examination of SSC CGL will appear for the Tier-II examination.
  • The Tier-II examination of SSC CGL 2017 will consist of Objective Type Multiple Choice Questions comprising of 800 marks.
  • Tier –II of the examination will comprise of four papers in total. Each Paper will be for two hours. Out of these papers, two papers (Paper-I and Paper-II) are compulsory for all. However, Paper III will be for the candidates who have applied for the post of Statistical Investigator (now known as Junior Statistical Officer) and Paper IV will be for those candidates who have applied for the post of Assistant Audit Officer (AAO) in C&AG.
  • The Standard of the Paper-I will be of Standard level, Paper-II will be of 10+2 level and Paper-III & Paper-IV will be of graduation level.
  • Candidates who qualify the Tier-II will be allowed to appear for Tier-III exam of SSC CGL 2017 Exam.
  • The marks scored by the candidates in SSC CGL Tier II exam will be given weightage for final selection.
  • Stage 3: Tier III Descriptive Test

  • SSC will shortlist candidates for Tier III on the basis of their performance in Tier I and Tier II.
  • The Descriptive Test of SSC CGL will be conducted for 100 marks in Pen and Paper mode.
  • This paper has been introduced to access the writing skills of the candidates which is necessary in Government jobs.
  • The qualifying marks in Tier-III would be 33 per cent.
  • The questions in this paper would be of 10+2 standard.
  • Stage 4: Tier IV Data Entry Skill Test (DEST) /Computer Proficiency Test (CPT)

  • The marks obtained by the candidates in Tier I & Tier II will determine the eligibility of the candidates to appear in Tier IV.
  • Tier-IV of the Examination will continue to be the Data Entry Skill Test (DEST) /Computer Proficiency Test (CPT) which will be of a qualifying nature.
  • SBI PO Exam Pattern

    SBI PO - Main Exam
    Max Marks 200
    S.No Name of Test Marks Questions
    1 English Language 30 30
    2 Quantitative Aptitute 35 35
    3 Reasoning Ability 3535
    Total 100100

    SBI PO - Pre Exam
    Duration - 1 Hour
    S.No Name of Test Time Questions
    1 English Language 40 min 35
    2 G.Awareness/Economy & Financial Awareness 35 min 40
    3 Data Interpretation/Analysis 45 min35
    4 Reasoning & Comp. Apt 60 min45
    Total 3 Hour155