Madhya Pradesh Sub Inspector

About MPSI

The Madhya Pradesh Police opperates under direct control of the Department of Home Affairs, Government of Madhya Pradesh. The Madhya Pradesh Police Department is headed by Director General of Police (DGP). Former soldier Joginder Singh Kukreja was head of the MP Police (07.03.1980 to 14.04.1981) as Inspector General instead of as Director General of Police. After him, Bhagwati Prasad Dubey took over as Inspector General of Madhya Pradesh police on 15.04.1981. He became the first officer to eventually be elevated to the rank of Director General of the MP Policem on 23.03.1982. He retired on 28.05.1983. The next DG was then HM Joshi. Before 23.03.1982, thus, there was no DG rank. In fact this was the time when the DG rank was added in the Indian Police. Before 1982, the highest rank in the Indian Police used to be only IG.


Educational Qualification: (AS ON 01.07.2017)

The examination is conducted by the MADHYA PRADESH VYAVSAYIK PAREEKSHA MANDAL (VYAPAM) every year. The method of recruitment for the post of sub-inspector of police is followed by:

  • By direct recruitment by selection through the competitive examination.
  • By promotion of such members of service, as are specified in column 2 of the schedule IV
  • By transfer of persons who hold in a substantive capacity such post in such service as may be specified in this behalf.
  • The eligibility criteria for the recruitment for the vacancy of sub-inspector of police are:

    MP police SI Education Qualification

  • The candidate needs to have a graduation degree or bachelorís degree or equivalent from a recognized university.
  • MP police SI Age Limit

  • 18 to 28 years.
  • Upper age limit for SC/ST/OBC (MALES AND FEMALES) candidate is 33 years.
  • Selection Process

  • Written exam
  • Physical fitness test
  • Interview
  • MP police SI Physical fitness

    For males

  • Height should be 167.5
  • The chest should be 81-86
  • For females

  • Height should be 152.4
  • The application form will be cost rs 700/- and rs 350/- for special candidates (sc/st/obc).