Air Force Common Admission Test

About AF-CAT

AFCAT stands for Air Force Common Admission Test and is also referred to as the Indian Air Force Exam. AFCAT is a national level competitive exam conducted by the Indian Air Force (IAF) to select officers for all its branches, except for the medical and dental branches. The AFCAT is conducted twice every year, once in February, and the other time in August. The IAF recruits its officers broadly under three branches, they are, the Flying Branch, the Technical Branch, and the Ground Duty Branch.

The Flying Branch consists of Fighters, Transports, and Helicopters. The Technical Branch deals with the Mechanical and Electronic aspects, while the Ground Duty Branch comprises of Administration, Accounts, Logistics, Education and Meteorology.


Educational Qualification: (AS ON 01.07.2017)

The following criteria are applicable for both male and female candidates who are appearing for the AFCAT.

Age -

Flying Branch: 20 to 24 years at the time of commencement. If the candidate has a valid and current Commercial Pilot Licence issued by the DGCA of India, the age limit is relaxed up to 26 years.

Technical Branch and Ground Duty Branch: 20-26 years at the time of commencement.

Nationality -


Marital Status -


Educational Qualification -

Candidates who have completed a three-year or four-year course in any discipline from a recognized University with a minimum of 60% marks. The candidate should have studied Physics and Mathematics at 10+2 level.

Students who are in their final year are also eligible to apply, as long as they do not have any backlog at the time of the Testing and produce their Degree certificate issued by the University before the stipulated date in the advertisement.

Selection Process

IAF conducts a written examination as the first phase for the selection of Officers through AFCAT exam. The selection is done in three phases including

  • Stage-I: Online Examination
  • Stage-II: SSB Interview
  • Medical Examination
  • Stage-I: Entrance Test

    The detailed exam pattern is as below

  • Test nature: Online
  • Total Duration: 2 hours
  • Questions type: Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs)
  • Total no. of Questions: 100
  • Total marks: 300 (each question worth 3 marks)
  • Negative marking: 1 mark for every wrong answer
  • Subjects if Written test
  • Verbal Ability
  • Numerical ability
  • Reasoning
  • General Awareness
  • Military Aptitude
  • Stage-II

    Only candidates, who clear the stage-I, will be promoted to stage-II where document verification will be done to ensure the eligibility of candidates.


    Stage-III of the AFCAT selection process involves Psychological Test, Group Test and Interview conducted by the Staff Selection Board (SSC).

  • Pilot Aptitude Battery Test (PABT)
  • PABT test will be conducted only for Flying branch applicants.
  • Also check, AFCAT Sample & Previous Question Papers
  • AFCAT 2018 Syllabus

    AFCAT written examination will include questions from the following subjects and topics

  • Verbal Ability English: Comprehension, Error Detection, Synonyms, Antonyms, and Testing of Vocabulary, Sentence Completion etc.
  • Numerical Ability: Decimal Fraction, Simplification, Average, Percentage, Ratio & Proportion, and Simple Interest, Profit & Loss
  • Reasoning & Military Aptitude: Verbal Skills and Spatial Ability General Awareness: History, Sports, Geography, Environment, Culture, Current Affairs, Politics, Civics, Basic Sciences, Defence, Art etc.